The Atlantic Years - Ornette Coleman (Vinyl)

Notify Me
Want alternative recommendations? Let us know!
Product is selling fast, get it before it's gone!
  • FREE shipping for orders above SGD500
  • Typically ships from warehouse in 1-2 full business days
Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.
We're still waiting for an expected delivery date on this product. Get notified of the latest information or contact us to see if we have a B-Stock or an alternative available.

Related Products

About this product

This is a limited edition, 180g vinyl LP pressing set of Atlantic Years by American jazz saxophonist, Ornette Coleman.

Ornette Coleman recorded one of the greatest bodies of work in jazz during a 22-month-long burst of creativity. Between 1959 and 1961, the saxophonist and composer released six studio albums on Atlantic Records that helped usher in the avant-garde, free jazz movement.

Those albums, along more than two hours of session outtakes, are featured together in this 10-LP boxed set, featuring newly remastered audio by John Webber at AIR Studios. Several of these titles are long out-of-print on vinyl. The Ornette Coleman Legacy, featuring six songs originally released for the first time in 1993 as part of Rhino's CD boxed set Beauty Is A Rare Thing, making its vinyl debut.

The LPs are presented in replica European-style 1960s jackets in a side-loading slipcase along with a 12 x 12 booklet with new liner notes written by renowned author-music critic Ben Ratliff, plus rare pictures taken by legendary jazz photographer Lee Friedlander.

The albums featured in the set are: The Shape Of Jazz To Come (1959), Change Of The Century (1959), This Is Our Music (1960), Free Jazz: A Collective Improvisation (1960), Ornette!(1961), Ornette On Tenor (1961), The Art Of Improvisers (1970), Twins (1971), To Whom Who Keeps A Record (1975), and The Ornette Coleman Legacy (1993.)

Label: Atlantic

Release Year: 2018

Track List:

Disc 1

  1. Lonely Woman
  2. Eventually
  3. Peace
  4. Focus on Sanity
  5. Congeniality
  6. Chronology

Disc 2

  1. Ramblin'
  2. Free
  3. The Face of the Bass
  4. Forerunner
  5. Bird Food
  6. Una Muy Bonita
  7. Change of the Century

Disc 3

  1. P.S. Unless One Has (Blues Connotation)
  2. Beauty Is a Rare Thing
  3. Kaleidoscope
  4. Embraceable You
  5. Poise
  6. Humpty Dumpty
  7. Folk Tale

Disc 4

  1. Free Jazz (Part 1)
  2. Free Jazz (Part 2)

Disc 5

  1. LP 5 - W.R.U. (Remastered Version)
  2. T & T (Remastered Version)
  3. C. & D. (Remastered Version)
  4. R.P.D.D (Remastered Version)

Disc 6

  1. Cross Breeding
  2. Mapa
  3. Enfant
  4. Eos
  5. Ecars

Disc 7

  1. The Circle with a Hole in the Middle
  2. Just for You
  3. The Fifth of Beethoven
  4. The Alchemy of Scott Lafaro
  5. Moon Inhabitants
  6. The Legend of Bebop
  7. Harlem's Manhattan

Disc 8

  1. First Take
  2. Little Symphony
  3. Monk and the Nun
  4. Check Up
  5. Joy of a Toy

Disc 9

  1. Music Always
  2. Brings Goodness
  3. To Us
  4. All
  5. P.S. Unless One Has (Blues Connotation No. 2)
  6. Some Other
  7. Motive for It's Use

Disc 10

  1. Rise and Shine
  2. The Tribes of New York
  3. I Heard It Over the Radio
  4. Revolving Doors
  5. Mr. And Mrs. People
  6. Proof Readers
Read More

Get more with Swee Lee

Dedicated Sales Support Available.

Latest News & Promos for Members.

Secure Payment Methods.

Learn more about this product

Related Products

Price $244.90
Taxes included. Free Shipping over $500 SGD.

From our Blog